Bach's Brandenburg Concertos

Nicholas Kraemer, conductor


Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G Major, BWV 1048

Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D Major, BWV 1050

Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 in B-flat Major, BWV 1051

Bach may have composed the six Brandenburg Concertos to gain employment, but his “musical resume” stands today as one of the great monuments in Baroque orchestral music. Principal Guest Conductor Nicholas Kraemer leads the Music of the Baroque Orchestra in three of the six concertos—the joyful Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 for string orchestra, the maverick Brandenburg No. 5 with its wild harpsichord solo, and the dusky-hued No. 6 featuring violas and viole da gamba.

This concert is available On Demand through May 29. Purchase tickets at the button on the right of the screen.

Watch the pre-concert lecture

Click here to view the program book