Easter Oratorio

Dame Jane Glover, conductor


Sinfonia in D Major, BWV 1045

"Komm, Jesu, komm," BWV 229

Cantata No. 55, "Ich armer Mensch, ich Sündenknecht"

Easter Oratorio, BWV 249

Dame Jane Glover leads the Music of the Baroque Chorus, Orchestra, and four world renowned soloists—Yulia Van Doren, Elizabeth DeShong, James Gilchrist, and Michael Sumuel—in Bach’s imaginative Easter Oratorio, a journey from a cavern’s darkness into the magnificent light of heaven. Gilchrist takes a solo turn in Bach’s only surviving cantata for tenor, “I, wretched man.” The motet "Komm, Jesu, komm" and the thrilling Sinfonia in D Major—possibly a fragment of a lost violin concerto—complete this all-Bach spring extravaganza.

Sponsor: The Negaunee Foundation

Subscribe & Save